The Gadget Show Live 2010!

I know this was a while ago now but I thought I’d give you a roundup of all the gadget goings on at this years Gadget Show Live 2010! It was an awesome day with enough tech to keep your gadget juices flowing all day! It was held at the NEC in Birmingham which was the perfect venue with 3 massive halls packed to the brim with the latest TVs, cameras, computers and even cars. They also had a mini Gadget Show Studio where the presenters filmed various pieces and signed autographs for the masses! Sadly I didn’t get an autograph as the queue for them was ridiculously long and my patience isn’t quite that good. Now if it was Steve Jobs signing autographs it may have been a different story…

3D was huge at The Gadget Show Live, and when I say huge I mean it was EVERYWHERE! The 3D market is growing at a rapid rate, branching out to all areas of the tech world with most companies trying to incorporate some form of 3D into their products. I saw 3D gaming laptops, 3D games for consoles such as the PS3 and the Xbox, 3D TVs, 3D films and even 3D photographs! Yes, those were pretty awesome but also a bit pointless at the same time. 3D gaming is going to be a huge market although I’m not overly convinced on a) the current quality of 3D games, and b) the need for it. Games are fine how they are at the moment, and the 3D technology which is around now, is still gimmicky and hurts my eyes within about 5 minutes. It’s unnecessary as I don’t think it adds much to the games but it had a huge audience at the live show and people seem to love it so maybe that’s just my opinion. The only 3D games I did like however were the 3D racing games which seemed pretty cool and they had the most attention. They were the most realistic and non gimmicky 3D games and the graphics were very smooth so I think these are going to be winners.

Furby! Who remembers these?

Retro Macs!

A really cool area of the show was The Gadget Show Hall Of Fame which contained all of techs greatest players such as old Macs, Gameboys, the Atari, the Binatone, old TV’s, a Sega Megadrive and even Apple’s first ever tablet, The Newton! It was basically loads of old tech which you could interact with and reminisce over the good old days where you used to stay up all night to get to the final level because you couldn’t save back in the day (boy I DON’T miss those days!) I love anything old (cars, music, tech, you name it!) so this was heaven for me :)

Hey! I bumped into the TomTom hand! What a dude!

A giant Flip Mino HD!

OH MY GOSH! AN iPAD!

As you can see from those envious eyes behind me in the picture above, I TOUCHED AN iPAD! HELLS to the YES! The T3 stand got one in from America and quietly had it just sitting there on the table. There were no long queues to see it, only a few chosen nerds who were huddled around the holy device mesmerized by it’s iPaddyness (yes I know that’s not a word!) I only had a few minutes to play with it so I unfortunately couldn’t film any reviews nor could I use half of the apps because the device doesn’t actually work in England yet. The official release date for the iPad in the UK is “late May” according to Apple’s official website, therefore Maps didn’t work along with some internet websites so generally it was just a mini preview for me. I could at least get a feel for the UI which was as smooth as butter like they always are with Apple. The touchscreen was very intuitive and photos looked glorious on that beautiful high resolution screen. Man I wish I could afford one of these babies.

The one hour Super Theatre Show with the presenters was great! It was a very interactive show with the chance to win some seriously cool prizes such as a laptop with Windows 7, a HD camcorder and a Xbox! The presenters performed live competitions against each other with lots of audience participation, and during one particular battle between Suzi and Jason there was a serious technical hitch! They were having a jetpack race over the audience and Suzi’s jetpack got stuck, which left her hanging there getting slightly worried! She was even shouting, “Cut the music, this isn’t part of the script!” so that was extra funny!

Overall the show was AWESOME and me and Dave will definitely be booking our tickets for next year! I did some recording aswell of the general atmosphere of the day so I’ll get that edited down and hit it up soon!

Enjoy your Wednesday gadget fiends :D

Leave a Reply

